Types of Harps (1)

After my trip to Paris, I started doing detailed researches on the web, from which I realized that there are several types / names of harps: lap harps, lever harps, pedal harps, clarsaches, celtic harps, paraguay harps, medieval harps, double strung, cross strung, wire strung etc.  They all vary from sizes (number of strings), type of strings (nylon, gut, wire), shapes (broader soundboard VS narrower but longer soundboard), no of rows of strings (single row VS double row) and action (lever vs pedal).  Not to mention there is another close relative: Lyre!  Wow… it really took me a while to have a basic understanding of all these.

000005 Five Harps at home (with watermark)

As of today (26 months since I learned the instrument), I have five playable harps at home: one 8 string baby harp (the smallest in the photo), one lap harp (26 string blue fullsicle with a sun & a moon drawn on the soundboard), one 34 string lever harp (the one with a black soundboard), one 47 string pedal harp (the largest one) and one double strung (the one on bottom left corner).  I will later write more about them (i.e. different types of harps) in this blog.

As a beginner, I should choose one which is more popular – easier to get a teacher and the instrument, and the sheet music in the neighbourhood!  After reading some discussion forum, I decided to get a teacher first: have a  trial class, seek her opinions on where to get my first harp etc.  My next post would be about how I had my first class~!

2 thoughts on “Types of Harps (1)

Leave a comment